Teen Driver's Education
Teen Driver's Education
The State of Ohio requires teenagers under the age of 18 to attend commercial student driver's ed. The student driver's ed course consists of 12 lessons teaching key topics such as Ohio laws, basic car control, defensive driving, alcohol awareness, speeding, adverse conditions, handling emergencies, accidents, insurance, and seatbelt use.
- Flexibility Of Scheduling
- New Class Start every 2 weeks
- Optional – Vehicle Rental – Final Driver's Examination
- Optional – Cone Rental – Maneuverability Practice
Bick's starts a new group every 2 weeks. Students MUST attend all classes. (6 Classes 4 Hrs. each) Students are NOT required to attend all 6 classes in order, Bick's can work with your class schedule. Classes run Monday through Thursday. (No classroom on Friday) School Year Schedule – 4:00 pm – 8:15 pm. Summer Schedule – 9:00 am – 1:15 pm and 2:30 pm – 6:45 pm. The teen course consists of 12 lessons teaching key topics such as Ohio laws, basic car control, defensive driving, alcohol awareness, speeding, adverse conditions, handling emergencies, accidents, insurance, and seatbelt use. Classroom participation is encouraged through classroom activities, lectures, and movies. (General note: Our classes are Monday, Wednesday, Thursday for 2 weeks)
FOR OUR CLASSROOM STUDENTS
Students are required to drive for 8 hours, (4 – 2 hr. lessons). Driving can be scheduled while taking class or over the phone. Instruction is instructor / student only. Students will be taught basic driving skills, maneuverability, and expressway driving. Students must have passed their written temporary test before scheduling their behind-the-wheel training.
FOR OUR ONLINE STUDENTS
Driving can be scheduled after the student has completed the 24 hours of the online program. Students are required to complete the driving 6 months from the first scheduled lesson. Students MUST provide the Certificate of Completion to schedule their 8 hours of driving. A parent/legal guardian will need to sign the training agreement which is emailed upon registration. This either can be done in person or by email to firstname.lastname@example.org The full payment will need to be made in order to schedule the 8 hours of driving. Students will be taught basic driving skills, maneuverability, and expressway driving. The final certificate required to take the BMV test will be issued by Bick's.
Pick-Up and Take Home:
For behind-the-wheel training we will pick you up at school or home and return you to your home. Certain restrictions apply for our service area, please ask our administrative staff.
Bick's will take you for your final road test if needed. An additional fee is charged for the 2 hour lesson.