Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
STEP 1: Schedule 24 Hours of Classroom Training
Eligibility: 15 years & 5 months. Complete and pass the 24-Hour Ohio Teen Drivers Ed Course; may be taken In Person or Online.
STEP 2: Get Your Temporary License
Eligibility: 15 years & 6 months. Applicants must pass both the knowledge test and vision screening to obtain a temporary instruction permit identification card. The knowledge test is 40 multiple-choice questions about motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs. Applicants must answer 75 percent of the questions correctly to pass.
STEP 3: Behind the Wheel Training
Eligibility: Once all Classroom Training is Complete. Schedule 8 hours of Behind the Wheel Training with a licensed instructor. Drive another 50 hours (10 being at night) with a licensed parent or legal guardian.
STEP 4: Complete Behind the Wheel Training
Receive your Certificate of Completion of a Driver Training Course: Ohio Licensed Driver Training School.
STEP 5: PRACTICE
Hold your Temporary License for a MINIMUM of 6 months and be at least 16 years old before you are eligible to take your driving test.
STEP 6: Schedule Driving Test
Eligibility: 16 years on or before Test Date. In advance of the desired date, schedule a road and maneuverability test at www.ohiodrivingtest.com. Tests can be taken in any county within the state. Availability of appointments vary by exam station.
Bick's has copies of the form in our office as well as the BMV On-Line Click Here.
You can start your classroom training when you are 15 and 5 months or older.
Click on Course Schedule and pick a date that fits your needs and then call us at (513) 251-7111 to get registered for your class.
No. The information given in the classroom will prepare you for for taking your written test. Free Online Practice
You may pick-up a Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws and study the digest prior to taking your test. You will then be required to take the written test and successfully pass the exam prior to receiving your temporary permit.
You will be required to bring the following: Your Original Birth Certificate, Your Social Security Card, Your Parent or Legal Guardian (Parents MUST also have Social Security Card and I.D.) The written test is given locally at 2 locations (No Appointment Necessary): Seven Hills – 10940 Hamilton Ave. (513) 674-7830 Tuesday – Friday 8:00 am – 4:30 pm Saturday 8:00 am – 1:30 pm Sharonville – 11177 Reading Rd. (513) 769-3047 Tuesday – Friday 8:00 am – 4:30 pm Saturday 8:00 am – 1:30 pm.
Your temporary learner's permit is valid for 1 year from the date issued.
You may re-test after 24 hours and up to 4 times at which time you will be required to wait a 6 month period and begin the process over.