Teen Driver's Education
Teen Driver's Education
The State of Ohio requires teenagers under the age of 18 to attend commercial driver's education. They are required to complete 24 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. In addition to this requirement, they must receive at least 50 hours of in-car practice with a parent or legal guardian. ( 40 hours during the day – 10 hours at night ) and have their temporary packet for 6 months in order to take their final road test.
- Flexibility Of Scheduling
- New Class Start every 2 weeks
- Pick-Up / Take Home Services within service area
- Optional – Vehicle Rental – Final Driver's Examination
- Optional – Cone Rental – Maneuverability Practice
Bick's starts a new group every 2 weeks. Students MUST attend all classes. (6 Classes 4 Hrs each) Students are NOT required to attend all 6 classes in order, Bick's can work with your class schedule. Classes run Monday thru Thursday. (No classroom on Friday) School Year Schedule – 3:00 pm till 7:15 pm or 5:00 pm till 9:15 pm. Summer Schedule – 10:00 am – 2:15 pm or 4:00 pm till 8:15 pm. The teen course consists of 12 lessons teaching key topics such as Ohio laws, basic car control, defensive driving, alcohol awareness, speeding, adverse conditions, handling emergencies, accidents, insurance, and seatbelt use. Classroom participation is encouraged through classroom activities, lectures, and movies. (General note: Our classes are Monday-Thursday the first week and Monday/Tuesday the second week.)
FOR OUR CLASSROOM STUDENTS
Students are required to drive for 8 hours, (4 – 2 hr. lessons). Driving can be scheduled while taking class or over the phone. Instruction is instructor / student only. Students will be taught basic driving skills, maneuverability, and expressway driving. Students must have passed their written temporary test before scheduling their behind-the-wheel training.
FOR OUR ONLINE STUDENTS
Students are required to drive for 8 hours, (4 – 2 hr. lessons). Driving can be scheduled after the student has completed a minimum of two hours of online training. Students MUST provide the certificate of enrollment to schedule their 8 hours. A parent/guardian will need to come into the office, sign a record of agreement, give Bicks the certificate and pay the fee. We prefer the certificate of completion before the first driving lesson. Instruction is instructor / student only. Students will be taught basic driving skills, maneuverability, and expressway driving. The final certificate required to take the BMV test will be issued by Bicks.
Pick-Up and Take Home:
Bick's is the ONLY school that offers transportation to and from classroom. For behind-the-wheel training we will pick you up at school or home and return you to your home. Certain restrictions apply for our service area, please ask our administrative staff.
Bick's will take you for your final road test if needed. An additional fee is charged for the 2 hour lesson.